Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo

Social Sciences

Contact Information  
Ms L Donohue – donohuel@denbigh.net Ms J Kaur – kaurj@denbigh.net
Miss D Macanda – macandad@denbigh.net Miss S Pillay – pillays@denbigh.net
Mr P Gannaway – gannawayp@denbigh.net Mrs M Obeata – obeatam@denbigh.net
Miss E Roche – rochee@denbigh.net Mrs H Rowe – roweh@denbigh.net

Faculty Introduction

The Social Sciences Faculty includes the subjects of Health and Social Care, Psychology, and Sociology. The faculty is made up of 10 teachers with staff specialising in one or more of the subjects offered. Our aim is to instil in students a thirst for self-knowledge and self-improvement by studying societies, looking at the relationships people in these societies form, and how we as human beings can contribute positively to our society.

Many students who study these subjects at Denbigh pursue them further in higher education with many students going on to study disciplines such as Psychology, Medicine, International Relations, Criminology amongst others. We strongly emphasise and encourage critical thinking, self-reflection, inclusion, and tolerance and aim to develop in our learners a sense of curiosity about the world around us which will create that drive to build a better community and society.

In Health and Social Care, students follow the OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care. This course will help students develop an understanding of health and social care in the wider contexts of different environments and settings where care takes place, the importance of effective communication in health and social care, the importance of legislation in health and social care and how to deliver a person-centred approach in the care given. For our Psychology course, students follow AQA A-Level Psychology A which explores scientific ideas, processes, techniques and procedures and develops students’ ability to analyse, interpret and evaluate scientific information, ideas and evidence. In Sociology, students follow OCR A-Level Sociology which helps students to foster the development of critical and reflective thinking with a respect for social diversity; and encourages students to develop an awareness of the importance of social structure and social action in social issues.

Extra-Curricular

We also aim to encourage students to look beyond themselves to improve themselves. Therefore, we offer opportunities for extra-curricular development such as essay competitions, wider school and community projects and chances for students to hear from the key thinkers themselves within the subject disciplines.

Schemes of Learning

Each faculty has developed a two-year Scheme of Learning for each subject. The Schemes of Learning outline the curriculum journey that students will embark on during each academic year.

Psychology

Sociology

Health & Social Care

Faculty Assessment and Feedback Policy

Please find a copy of the Faculty Assessment and Feedback policy below. Teachers in the faculty subject areas will follow this policy when assessing students learning and providing feedback.