Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo


Trust and School Governance

Denbigh School is a member of the Denbigh Alliance Academy Trust. There are three levels of governance within the Trust namely Members, Trustees and Local School Boards. 

Denbigh Local School Board

The Denbigh Local School Board provides the local level of governance for Denbigh School within the Trust. It provides support and challenge to the leadership of Denbigh School to ensure that it provides the highest quality of education, care and opportunity for its students and staff, in line with the objectives of the Trust. The Local School Board acts as a champion for the values of Denbigh School which are to ‘Be Engaged, Be Kind and Respectful and Do No Harm’. Governors sign up to uphold the Nolan Principles of Selflessness, Integrity, Objectivity, Accountability, Openness, Honesty and Leadership.

Enquiries can be emailed to the Governance Professional, Mrs Tracey Stewart at

The Chair of Governors, Akhtar Jan can be contacted c/o Denbigh School, Burchard Crescent, Shenley Brook End, Milton Keynes MK5 6EX

Membership of Local School Board of Governors

  • Akhtar JanChair of Governors, Curriculum & Achievement Assurance Governor
  • Dominic Wood – Vice Chair of Governors, Safeguarding Assurance Governor
  • Louise Conway – Staff Governor and Trips & Visits Oversight
  • Andrea Frame – Headteacher
  • Nura Ismail – Co-opted Governor and Careers & Visits Assurance Governor
  • Paula Milford – Parent Governor and Pupil Premium Assurance Governor
  • Pradeep Narayanan – Parent Governor and Pupil Premium Assurance Governor
  • Gill Molloy – Staff Governor, Health and Safety Assurance Governor and Trips & Visits Oversight
  • Russell Newham – Parent Governor and Staff Wellbeing Assurance Governor
  • Christopher Pitt – Co-opted Governor and Careers & Visits and Sixth Form Assurance Governor
  • Kirstin Pryor – Parent Governor and SEND Assurance Governor
  • Neil Stickland – Co-opted Governor and SEND Assurance Governor
  • Alex Tidy – Community Governor and Safeguarding Assurance Governor

Members of the Trust

The responsibilities of the Members of the Trust are:

  • To exercise their responsibility to appoint Trustees to the Trust Board ensuring that they hold the necessary skills and competence to manage the schools effectively and efficiently.
  • To remove any Trustee or Member, who is not considered to be acting in the best interests of the Trust.
  • From time to time to review the Articles of Association and to make changes when deemed necessary, after taking advice from the Trust Board.
  • To receive the annual report and accounts from the Trust Board and appoint auditors.
  • To appoint other Members as necessary in line with the provisions of the Articles of Association.

Names of Members

  • David D’Souza
  • Grainne Ferrari
  • David Lock          
  • Sharon McGuire              
  • Thornton Naylor

Trustees of the Trust

The Trust Board is responsible for all the schools within the Trust.  This means that Trustees govern in the interests of the Trust as a whole. There is no ‘lead school’ even though Denbigh School initiated the formation of the Trust. The Trust Board sets the vision, mission and values for the Trust and holds the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Heads of School/Headteachers to account for delivering the Trust’s Strategic Plan.

The Trust Board has robust, standardised and efficient processes for effective governance with the aim of:

  • Ensuring the highest standards and quality of education.
  • Overseeing and performance managing Executive leaders and other key staff.
  • Receiving management information that enables comparison of the performance of schools across the Trust.
  • Ensuring continuing robust financials, regularity, and probity.
  • Managing risk, including setting and managing risk appetite, tolerance, and mitigation strategies.
  • Ensuring compliance, regularity, propriety, prudence, care, and value for money.
  • Providing accurate and up-to-date documentation and effective communication of the Board’s decisions and the impact on relevant parties e.g. parents, the community, Local School Boards, etc.

Names of Trustees

  • John Cove (Chair)
  • Maureen O’Brien (Vice Chair)
  • Sue Collings (CEO)
  • Meanu Bajwa-Patel
  • Elizabeth Bancroft
  • Willi Butler
  • Jonathan Giles
  • John Hand
  • Naomi Lewis
  • Warren Preen
  • Daniela Thompson