Denbigh Alliance Multi Academy Trust logo

Science

Contact Information  
Mr Q Berriman – berrimanq@denbigh.net Mr S Campbell – campbells@denbigh.net
Mr W Dymock – dymockw@denbigh.net Ms M Conlon – conlonm@denbigh.net
Mr M Hairsine – hairsinem@denbigh.net Mrs J Hallam – hallamj@denbigh.net
Ms E Hanby – hanbye@denbigh.net Mrs J Herring – herringj@denbigh.net
Ms L Kewney – kewneyl@denbigh.net Mr M List – listm@denbigh.net
Mrs N Menni – mennin@denbigh.net Miss L Pretorius – pretoriusl@denbigh.net
Miss E Roche – rochee@denbigh.net Miss R Herring – herringr@denbigh.net
Mr J Stoddart – stoddartj@denbigh.net Mrs P Verma – vermap@denbigh.net
Mrs S Wiltshire – wiltshires@denbigh.net Ms S Harriman – harrimans@denbigh.net

Faculty Introduction

Science is a core subject for all students in years 7-11, and the faculty teaches the traditional academic Science subjects of Chemistry, Physics and Biology up to A2 level.

Schemes of Learning

Each faculty has developed a Scheme of Learning for each subject and year group. The Schemes of Learning outline the curriculum journey that students will embark on each academic year.

Science

Biology

Chemistry

Physics

Combined Science

Useful Websites

Faculty Assessment & Feedback Policy

Please find a copy of the Faculty Assessment and Feedback policy below. Teachers in the faculty subject areas will follow this policy when assessing students learning and providing feedback.

Key Words for Year 7 Science – Autumn

Key termDefinition
balanced dietEating food containing the right nutrients in the correct amounts.
carbohydrateNutrient that provides energy.
deficiencyA lack of minerals, that causes poor growth.
digestive systemGroup of organs that work together to break down food.
enzymeSpecial protein that can break large molecules into small molecules.
food testChemical test to detect the presence of particular nutrients in a food.
nutrientEssential substance that your body needs to survive, provided by food.
proteinNutrient used for growth and repair.
lipidNutrient used for energy e.g. fats and oils.
atomThe smallest particle of a chemical element that can exist.
solidA state of matter that retains its shape and density.
liquidA nearly incompressible fluid that conforms to the shape of its container.
gasState of matter consisting of particles that have neither a defined volume nor shape.
condensationThe change of the state of matter from the gas phase into the liquid phase.
meltingThe process by which a substance changes from the solid phase to the liquid phase.
sublimationConversion of a substance from the solid to the gaseous state without its becoming liquid.
freezingThe process through which a substance changes from a liquid to a solid.
evaporationThe process by which a liquid turns into a gas.

Key Words for Year 8 Science – Autumn

Key TermDefinition
photosynthesisThe process by which green plants and some other organisms use sunlight to synthesize nutrients from carbon dioxide and water. Photosynthesis in plants generally involves the green pigment chlorophyll and generates oxygen as a by-product.
stomataAny of the minute pores in the epidermis of the leaf or stem of a plant.
diffusionThe movement of individual molecules of a substance from an area of higher concentration to an area of lower concentration. 
osmosisThe movement of water molecules through a semipermeable barrier from an area of higher concentration of water to an area of lower concentration of water.
FertiliserA chemical or natural substance added to soil or land to increase its mineral ions.
WavesA disturbance in a medium that carries energy without a net movement of particles.
Transverse waveThe direction in which the wave travels is perpendicular to the direction of disturbance.
Longitudinal waveWaves where the disturbance moves in the same direction as the wave.
frequencyA measurement of how often a recurring event such as a wave occurs in a measured amount of time. 
amplitudeA measure of the wave’s height.
reflectionWhen light bounces off an object.
refractionThe redirection of a wave as it passes from one medium to another.